|Kosher Alerts & Advisories|
The following OU Kosher Alerts & Advisories were released by the Orthodox Union's Kosher Division on the date indicated.
Cardboard No More
The Kosher pizza industry has been transformed in recent years, leading, leading to many opportunities and challenges, both for manufacturers and for the OU.
Kosher in the Dairy Case
From genetically engineered microbial rennet to ‘Rocky Road’ ice cream, the dairy industry presents new challenges to the kosher kitchen. As with many other food products, modem food technology has...
A Time to Eat and A Time to Wait
General guidelines for waiting between the consumption of milchig and fleishig foods
“Rabbi, why doesn’t most hard cheese have a hechsher? After all, the ingredients all seem kosher?” The above question is often posed to me and my colleagues in the kashrus industry. While the question is simple, the answer is a bit more complex.
Ice Cream and Other Frozen Desserts
Before we know it, the heat of summer will be upon us, and many of us will be consuming ice cream and other frozen sweets in an effort to keep...
An overview of the procedure for making Kosher cheese and answers to some of the frequently asked questions about Kosher cheese.
The Kashrus of Skinless Salmon
This column has previously addressed the concern of purchasing fish without its skin intact. We discussed that once the skin is removed, one has no way of knowing what a...
The Halachot of Waiting Between Meals
A overview and discussion of the laws of waiting between meat and milk
An Analysis of Kaskeses – past and present
Consumers are becoming more health conscious. Fish is often considered a healthier option compared to meat. We are all familiar with certain fish like salmon and tuna. Yet, some may want to broaden their culinary experiences and try some more exotic varieties of fish. The question then becomes, what fish are kosher? This article will illustrate that it may not always be so simple to answer this question.
We are often confronted with a myriad of ingredients and products grouped loosely under the “Dairy” category. The purpose of this discussion is to clarify what those products are and their Halachic status.